Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects HC Collection at TFAW.com
TFAW.com
Get the latest news.
Subscribe
800-862-0052 M-F 9am-5pm PST
Your cart is empty
Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects HC Collection
See Larger Image
Resources

Customer Testimonials
GREAT TFAW DEALS
Detective Comics 1000
Hellboy
Comic Books for Sale
Newsletter
Deal of the Day


Home > Graphic Novels > Profile: The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects HC Collection
The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects HC Collection

The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects HC Collection


6 customer reviews
Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects HC Collection
See Larger Image
Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects HC Collection
See Larger Image

Ready to Buy?
Was: $17.99
Your Price: $10.79
You save 40%
Manage Subscriptions
Add to Watchdog
Add to Wish List
Safe Shopping

Your Price: $10.79

Was: $17.99

You save $7.20 (40%)

ADD TO CART
By:   Mike Mignola, Dave Stewart
Type:   Graphic Novels
Genres:   Fiction
Publisher:   Dark Horse
Pub. Date:   September 08, 2010
Availability:   Released
ISBN:   978-1-59582-501-8
For ages:   12+
Details:   Full color, 104 pages, Hard cover, 7" x 10"

Mike Mignola has deservedly become one of the biggest names in comics for his creation of Hellboy. But when Mignola needs a short break from the Hellboy universe, he turns to diversions such as The Amazing Screw--On Head, winner of the Eisner Award for Best Humor Publication!

When Emperor Zombie threatens the safety of all life on earth, President Lincoln enlists the aid of a mechanical head. With the help of associates Mr. Groin (a faithful manservant) and Mr. Dog (a dog), Screw--On Head must brave ancient tombs, a Victorian flying apparatus, and demons from a dimension inside a turnip. This new collection of oddball Mignola creations also includes "The Magician and the Snake" from Dark Horse Maverick: Happy Endings, and nearly fifty pages of brand new material, all as weird and hilarious as the beloved Screw-On Head.

* The Amazing Screw--On Head won an Eisner Award for Best Humor Publication.

* "The Magician and the Snake" won an Eisner Award for Best Short Story.

* Amazing Screw--On Head was the source for the cult animated short starring Paul Giamatti, David Hyde Pierce, and Patton Oswalt.


(6 Customer Reviews)

  • Jan 02, 2015 Spencer from NJ

    great art by Mike. I would love to see more about screw-on head and Gung the magnificent.


  • Mar 28, 2012 Justin from California

    Still can't believe the Scifi Channel didn't make this into a show. Woulda been Fantastic!


  • Feb 02, 2012 Anna from Duncraig, WA

    I'll admit to buying this solely for Mignola's art, but I was pleasantly surprised by the whimsical and clever stories, which are simplistic enough for children to enjoy but also have quirks adults will appreciate, as well as hints of deeper things, as some of the stories are loosely tied together. Recommended.


  • Jun 03, 2011 Steve from Ventura

    There is only one bad thing i have to say, I wish it had more pages. Other then that it was cool to read some different stories Mike Mignola.


  • Jan 21, 2011 Steven Wilcox from Fresno, CA

    While this collection boasts the main feature and a reprint of a short story, by Katie Mignola and Mike Mignola - the majority of this "collection" is new story and art by Mignola, done specifically for this book. That alone is reason to buy it. Classic Mignola. Highly recommended for fans of Hellboy, Mignola, Abe Lincoln, or quirky and off-beat stories then this book is for you!


  • Show more
  • Nov 17, 2010 Marcus from Melbourne, Australia

    Ever wondered how America managed to climb to the top of the world in the 20th Century? Ask Abraham Lincoln about the Amazing Screw on Head.

    This mad, mad mix of esoterica, steam punk and fantasy has all the Mignola trademarks: crazy contraptions, awakening monsters and a hero who can only be described as unique (you can hear the click and whir of his head screwing into his body if you listen clsoely enough). So, if you like Hellboy and Mignola's Gothic pencils and light and shade, then buy it. If not, buy it anyway - it's lots of fun and the tie in between the stories is an unexpected treat.


Choose a rating